Resource displays a lot of project information for each user, here is a breakdown of the various insights you'll see.

First, this is how Resource will appear by default before you create a schedule for the week:

You'll see that there is a user header for each member of your team. It will show their profile photo and alphabetized by the first letter of their last name.

To the right of their name, you will see a yellow, green, or red dot - this color changes as their allocated hours for the week are adjusted. Below their name, the number of phases in their column is listed, and on the right a button to add additional phases.

💡 Suggested Reading: Navigating, Filtering & Viewing Information


Project Time Allocations

After selecting a method and creating a schedule, project cards will appear under the user headers for team members, with suggested allocations for that project.

Allocation Cards

Allocation cards display the Project Number (in the Project Color), Project Name, and Phase Abbreviation. Next to the Phase Abbreviation is an icon indicating whether the user has a role on that particular project/phase. If they are not assigned to that project/phase, it will have a line across. Hovering over the role icon will display a tooltip indicating what role (if any) the user has on that particular phase.


The image below shows that Danielle has been previously allocated 20 hours to work on 2100 Circle Rd in the SD Phase as a Project Manager.

Updating Suggested Allocations

You update an allocation by hovering over the number in the circle and use the popup increment/decrement buttons to adjust the value or typing the number. In the image below, we have increased Elaine's hours from 2 to 12.


🚨 Updating an allocation will simultaneously update the user's timesheet,

read more here.


Expanded Allocation Cards

The expanded cards display additional information relating to each of the users' roles, and the phase as a whole. Financial information is only available to users with permission.

If you do have permission to see financial information, the expanded card will show you the following details:

  • For the Project:
    - Budgeted, Consumed and Time left as a progress bar and in numeric form
    - Total allocated hours for this week in the circle
  • For the Individuals:
    - Individual allocated hours for this week in the circle. As the users track time in the timesheet, the edge of the circle will change color to reflect.
    - Role by hovering over icon next to phase abbreviation
    - Budgeted, Consumed and Time left as a progress bar and in numeric form

If you do not have permission, you'll see a paired down version of the expanded cards, showing hours budgeted, consumed and remaining only.

No Role Assigned

Users who you are adding an allocation of time within Resource will not automatically be added to the project, and will appear as "No Role Assigned".

To see how adding that specific user affects the budget you will need to assign them to the project first, via the project planner.

Creating/Adding an Allocation of Time

You create an allocation by clicking on the "Add +" button below a user's name, searching for the project by name or number, and clicking the appropriate phase. The image below shows the 3 steps.

Deleting an Allocation

In Resource: Delete an allocation by clicking on the subtraction sign in the allocation wheel until the red "x" appears. In this example, Elaine 12 hour allocation to work on

"1234 Mission" has been removed.


Related

Did this answer your question?